It’s me, the Girl Next Door! ;)

I am so excited to be writing my first post on my own first blog!

I always believed that, in order to go places, you need to start somewhere; and, that somewhere may be this blog! I thought I could start by sharing the little things that make me smile – fashion, good food and life’s other little pleasures.

I am a Montreal-born young woman who studied Marketing at Concordia University, and is now working in the E-Marketing field. Life could not be any better!

One of my secret obsessions is watching my favorite TV shows. It may not be the most interesting hobby out there but it’s my way to escape for a few hours a week. My list is very long but here is a sample of the shows I do watch: Mad Men, Game of Thrones, Boardwalk Empire, Homeland, The Good Wife and Dancing with the Stars. I relish every moment I have to catch up on my shows, even if it means watching them on my phone during the commute to and from work. Thank you Apple!

Mad Men, AMC, What's Hot, Tv Show, Primetime Tv

AMC’s Mad Men, Sundays at 10pm

Another source of escape for me is reading. Unlike TV shows, I am very picky with the type of books I read: Historical Fiction (particular England in the Tudor era), Biographies, and Novels about love and long lasting friendships. I am currently reading “Love the One You’re With” by Emily Griffin. I am only done 3 chapters but I am already hooked! I will make sure to be posting a review as soon as I am done.

Love the one you're with by Emily Griffin, novel, romance

Love the one you’re with by Emily Griffin

I recently discovered a new hobby – Cooking. Growing up, I used to love hanging out with my mom in the kitchen, helping her prepare holiday spreads and learn all the tricks she learned from her own mother. However, I have moved away from traditional cooking and ventured myself in preparing more modern, everyday meals. My specialties of the moment are light, healthy tacos & fajitas. I love making a Mexican themed dinner party for family and friends. If you are lucky, you might get some of my recipes… 😉

Keeping the best for last – my ultimate passion is my love for Fashion. There’s nothing I love more than spending my Saturdays under the sun, flipping through InStyle and People Style magazines for inspirations. I consider myself a cross between the “Classic Gal” and  “Boho-Chic”. My style icons are Audrey Hepburn, Jennifer Aniston and Emmy Rossum – pretty different ladies huh?!

Audrey Hepburn, classic icon

Audrey Hepburn,isn’t she fabulous?

Well, there you have it. I look forward to sharing more with you all.

Until next time….

-xox-

The Girl Next Door

P.S: Follow me!

Twitter       Pinterest      Instagram

4 thoughts on “It’s me, the Girl Next Door! ;)

Leave a Reply

